John & Juanita Boothroyd

A Taste of The Wild

John & Juanita Boothroyd were a leading American old-time music duo in Australia from the sixties to the nineties. Their repertoire was varying from the Carter Family to the New Lost City Ramblers, Ola Bell Reed to Doc Watson and Appalachian traditionals.

The Boothroyds were based in Melbourne but performed all over with John on lead guitar, banjo, and autoharp. And Juanita on a solid backup guitar and autoharp. Their lead and harmony vocals were distinctive and outstanding. Ten of the tracks were recorded live during a few concerts in the mid-Seventies, four were taken from an Australian Folk Festivals registration in 1973, and the remaining tracks were home/studio recordings from the early seventies as well.

John & Juanita Boothroyd
Tell It To Me 

01. Eight More Miles To Louisville
02. Bill Ceatham
03. Sad And Lonesome Day
04. Red Haired Boy
05. Tell It To Me
06. Black Jack Davy
07. I’m Rolling On
08. Weary Blues
09. Johnson Boys
10. Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar
11. Sweet Fern
12. Tough Luck
13. Boats Up The River
14. Banjo Bounch
15. The Cyclone Of Rey Cove
16. Kitty Alone And I
17. All The Good Times Are Past And Gone
18. Hobo’s Lullaby
19. When I Die I Live Again
20. The Lazy Farmer
21. Coalminers Blues
22. Hallelujah To The Lamb
23. Black Eyed Susie
24. Tell It To Me (bonus track)